BookCourt Bookstore - Brooklyn NY

You are here

Events: Fiction and Nonfiction

Thu Oct 27, 7:00PM

The Women Who Made New York reveals the untold stories of the phenomenal women who made New York City the cultural epicenter of the world.

Fri Oct 28, 7:00PM

New York Rock breaks down the rock scene's half-century connection to New York and analyses its distinct subculture through the prism of influences, crosscurrents, and psychoactive distractions.

BookCourt Kids / Picture Book
Sat Oct 29, 2:00PM


Join us for a special afternoon storytime of new and old Halloween favorites like Room on the Broom, Click, Clack, Boo!, A Dark, Dark Tale, Rules of the House & more! Candy provided. Costumes encouraged! All ages welcome. 

Sat Oct 29, 7:00PM

Four Way Books presents Grace "Betsy" Bonner, Jen Levitt, and Megan Straffel.

BookCourt Kids / Picture Book
Sun Oct 30, 11:00AM

Fans of What Degas Saw and Matisse's Garden will be sure to enjoy this new picture book by Klaas Verplancke. 

Tue Nov 1, 7:00PM

If only there was a new model, one that allowed companies to address environmental, civic, and economic issues in a way that grew their brand and business, while giving back to society, and re-branding branding as a powerful force for good. Enter GOOD IS THE NEW COOL, a bold new manifesto from marketing experts Afdhel Aziz and Bobby Jones.

Fri Nov 4, 7:00PM

Whether it’s an umbrella cockatoo who’s not eating, a depressed chinchilla, a pregnant potbellied pig, or a ferret possibly needing surgery, exotic animal vet Laurie Hess is at the front lines with some remarkable pets–and their equally eccentric, dedicated, and sometimes demanding owners.

Sat Nov 5, 4:00PM

Drawing on interviews with Peter Straub and featuring an exclusive interview with Stephen King, this study explores the work of the author who has been called "a writer of rare wit and intelligence in a field beset with cynical potboilers" (Douglas E. Winter, Washington Post, October 14, 1984).

Fiction + Nonfiction
Sat Nov 5, 7:00PM

Join us as we celebrate the double release of Elena Ferrante's Frantumaglia and The Beach at Night.



Sun Nov 6, 4:00PM

Back in print for the first time since 2007, SARAH will feature a new foreword by Billy Corgan of The Smashing Pumpkins. The special edition of THE HEART IS DECEITFUL ABOVE ALL THINGS will include not only a new foreword from Jeff Feuerzeig, the writer and director of “Author,” but also seven additional JT LeRoy stories, previously uncollected and no less evocative.

Sun Nov 6, 6:00PM

Please join Valerie Hsiung and Action Books in celebration of the New York release of her third full-length collection of poetry: e f g (exchange following and gene flow): a trilogy.

Wed Nov 9, 7:00PM

Odyssey Works infiltrates the life of one person at a time to create a customtailored, life-altering performance. It may last for one day or a few months and consists of experiences that blur the boundaries of life and art—is that subway mariachi band, used book of poetry, or meal with a new friend real or a part of the performance?