BookCourt Bookstore - Brooklyn NY

You are here

Events: Fiction and Nonfiction

Teen & YA
Mon Jan 5, 7:00PM

Just when seventeen-year-old Matt thinks he can’t handle one more piece of terrible news, he meets a girl who’s dealt with a lot more—and who just might be able to clue him in on how to rise up when life keeps knocking him down—in this wry, gritty novel from the author of When I Was the Greatest.

Fiction
Tue Jan 6, 7:00PM

In The Season of Migration, Nellie Hermann conjures this period in a profoundly imaginative, original, and heartbreaking vision of Van Gogh’s early years, before he became the artist we know today.

Fiction
Wed Jan 7, 7:00PM

The fascinating lives of the characters in Almost Famous Women have mostly been forgotten, but their stories are burning to be told. Now Megan Mayhew Bergman, author of Birds of a Lesser Paradise, resurrects these women, lets them live in the reader’s imagination, so we can explore their difficult choices.

BookCourt Kids
Sat Jan 10, 2:00PM

Bianca Turetsky (Time-Traveling Fashionista Series) and Amanda Kingloff (ProjectKid) join forces as they discuss their books and make crafts. Come join to create Time-Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile inspired necklaces!

BookCourt Kids
Sun Jan 11, 11:00AM

Number one New York Times bestselling author Tad Hills reads from his highly acclaimed series of books about Rocket and Duck and Goose.

Teen & YA
Sun Jan 11, 4:00PM


About Stone Cove Island:

Nonfiction
Mon Jan 12, 7:00PM

Starting this year, the introduction of the Common Core State Standards Initiative in 45 states will bring an unprecedented level of new, more difficult, and longer mandatory tests to nearly every classroom in the nation up to five times a year—forcing our national testing obsession to a crisis point. How do we preserve space for self-directed learning and development, while also asking our children to make the score and make a mark? The Test is an exploration of that dilemma, and a strategy for how to solve it.

Fiction
Tue Jan 13, 7:00PM

For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Dress Shop of Dreams is a captivating novel of enduring hopes, second chances, and the life-changing magic of true love.

Fiction
Wed Jan 14, 7:00PM


About Near Enemy:

Fiction
Thu Jan 15, 7:00PM

In Refund, Bender creates an award-winning collection of stories that deeply explore the ways in which money and the estimation of value affect the lives of her characters.

BookCourt Kids
Fri Jan 16, 7:00PM

The city is full of brave trucks who help put out fires and fix power lines. But the garbage truck? He just collects the trash. When the city is hit by a colossal snowstory, only one hero can save the day.

Nonfiction
Sun Jan 18, 7:00PM

The Sane Energy Project discusses fracking with Michelle Bamberger, author of The Real Cost of Fracking.

Pages