BookCourt Bookstore - Brooklyn NY

You are here


About Stir: My Broken Brain And the Meals That Brought Me Home:

At 28, Jessica Fechtor was happily immersed in graduate school and her young marriage, and thinking about starting a family. Then one day, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. She nearly died. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and was forced to the sidelines of the life she loved.

Jessica’s journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was able to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she drew strength from the restorative power of cooking and baking. Written with intelligence, humor, and warmth, Stir is a heartfelt examination of what it means to nourish and be nourished.

Woven throughout the narrative are 27 recipes for dishes that comfort and delight. For readers of M.F.K.Fisher, Molly Wizenberg, and Tamar Adler, as well as Oliver Sacks, Jill Bolte Taylor, and Susannah Cahalan, Stir is sure to inspire, and send you straight to the kitchen.

Author Bio: 


Jessica Fechtor writes the popular food blog, Sweet Amandine. She is a PhD candidate in Jewish Literature at Harvard University, and lives with her husband and daughters in San Francisco. She doesn't believe in secret recipes.

Bari Weiss is an associate book review editor at The Wall Street Journal. Before joining the book review, she worked as an oped editor at the Journal. For two years, Bari was a senior editor at Tablet Magazine, where she she edited the site's political and news coverage. She's also written for Haaretz, the Forward and the New York Sun. Look for Bari on NY1, where she talks about new books she likes on a segment called the Book Reader.

Jessica Fechtor with Bari Weiss
Stir: My Broken Brain And the Meals That Brought Me Home
Wed Jun 24, 7:00PM
Event Type: 
Nonfiction
On the Docket: 
Release Party
Reading
Audience Q&A
Book Signing